Silver Week Part Two: Harajuku, Ikebukuro, Odaiba, Asakua, and Sky Tree

Right, no intro for this one, let’s just jump right into it.

The second day of Silver Week was spent in Harajuku and Ikebukuro. We didn’t exactly have a big plan for this day; it was mainly just for shopping. We split up for a little bit while waiting for the Disney Store to open. We had a plan to try to aim for Disney Sea since Disneyland was a no go on the day we originally wanted. So while waiting for the store to open, we got crepes, cause crepes are DELISH. You can’t not like crepes; you weirdo.

Finally the store was open and we ran to the floor where tickets could be bought. Well, turns out that you couldn’t buy tickets at that particular store. Only the one in Shibuya. Go freaking figure. So we split up again to shop and I managed to meet up with my friend Makoto! It had been a long time since I saw him last; it was nice to see him again! We window shopped and explored a candy store while A and J went off to Shibuya to figure out Disney Sea tickets. To make a long story short, we couldn’t get tickets; so we didn’t go.

After much putzing around Harajuku, we decided to go to Ikebukuro and investigate the big Animate store there. I split off for a little bit to tackle the Closet Child store nearby. I was shopping for more than just myself so it was going to take a little longer. When I did finally make it to Animate, I didn’t plan to buy much.  Most of the anime that I like is OLD and no one makes stuff for it anymore. Occasionally I’ll buy things for more recent anime, but I hadn’t planned on it this time around. Every time I visit Animate, I ask if they have anything for my all-time favorite anime, Yu Yu Hakusho. And every time I ask, I’m always given the same answer, “No, that’s too old of an anime.” Totally understandable, so I move on. Well, I didn’t even bother asking this time around and as I was walking down an aisle, I look up and BOOM.

Yu Yu Hakusho stuff. I made a beeline for it and even though it was only some clear files and keychains, it was SOMETHING. So I snagged some clear files and moved on. I would have gotten a keychain or two, but they were out of stock of my favorite characters.

IMG_0921 IMG_0481 IMG_0490 IMG_0497 IMG_0498

Third day was great! We went back to Ikebukuro in the early afternoon (gave ourselves a chance to sleep in and recoup) to visit a BUNNY CAFÉ. And no, you didn’t read that wrong. Those things exist. Actually, there are more dog and cat cafes, but bunny is the best. The one we went to was so nice! The owners actually spoke some English too! We had to wash and sanitize our hands and then put on aprons (cause them bunnies don’t care where they dump) and were given BUNNEHZ. SO MANY BUNNEHZ. I have so many pictures, it’s ridiculous. We were able to switch seats at one point and get a new set of bunnies to play with. We paid for an hour which flew by!

IMG_0538 IMG_0559 IMG_0587 IMG_0659 IMG_0708

We decided to hit up a Round 1 quickly to take some purikura together and we found a new game… a Tsum Tsum game O_O if you have an iPhone or android, you can play Disney Tsum Tsum. I recommend it because it’s so much fun! All three of us play it and so we decided to give this mega version a whirl! You could even win phone charm tsum tsums!

IMG_0710 IMG_0717 IMG_0721

Then we made our way to Odaiba. This is a pretty well-known area in Tokyo; it has a giant ferris wheel, Zepp Diver City, Rainbow Bridge, and lots more! J and A split off from me for a while since I hurt my foot earlier in the day and so I hung around the bridge viewing area. I was excited to see the bridge cause come one, it’s a RAINBOW bridge. But… it wasn’t rainbow. It was pink. PINK. With like, hints of green. Such a misleading name!

We looked around for a place to eat and settled on a nice looking yakiniku restaurant. Anyone who knows me knows that I love yakiniku. It’s something I do every time I got to Tokyo (if given the chance; day trips don’t count). This place was awwwwwesome. I wanna go again!

IMG_0737 IMG_0826 IMG_0838 IMG_0845 IMG_0848 IMG_0852 IMG_0853

We still had some time left after dinner so we made the trek over to the ferris wheel and I’m not gonna lie; I was pretty nervous. I’ve never been on a ferris wheel before, but it looked like fun. As we were making out way to the ferris wheel, I noticed that we were passing by Zepp Diver City; curious, I took a peak at who was performing that night (there were goods laid out and everything). Toooootallly forgot that Sadie had their finale live that night that signaled their hiatus. My bad ;-;

IMG_0909 IMG_0910 IMG_0913 IMG_0916

Okay last day! What did we do… oh right! We went to Asakusa! I was looking forward to this the most because I’ve ALWAYS wanted to visit this shrine. Pictures eeeeeeverywhere. We took to shopping strategically and only looking at stores on one side of the street; we hit the other side on our way out of the shrine. Sooo much festival food! I was in heaven! Choco bananas and kakigori EVERYWHERE! OM NOM NOM!

IMG_0943 IMG_1022 IMG_1026

Made our way to the Sky Tree; we decided to walk since it wasn’t that far away from where we already were. We explored the shopping area and grabbed some snacks and waited for our chance up on the Sky Tree. We didn’t have tickets for the tippy top of the Sky Tree, but tickets are tickets! And we got to go up in the evening so it was even more beautiful! I wish my pictures came out better!

IMG_1079 IMG_1087 IMG_1093 IMG_1115 IMG_1129 IMG_1135

Overall, AWESOME vacation with some awesome people. I’m looking forward to the next time I get to travel! My next post will either be about Sports Day or my recent concert/instore event. I might save the later for a little later though. We’ll see!

About mandipanda13

I love Visual Kei and almost everything about Japan! If you're wondering what the small percentage of dislike is consisted of I'll sum it up in a few short words: COCKROACHES AND HUMIDITY. Alaska has neither of them; hence, no likey.
This entry was posted in ALT Life, Japan, JET Program, Silver Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silver Week Part Two: Harajuku, Ikebukuro, Odaiba, Asakua, and Sky Tree

  1. Stacy Barril says:

    I am really loving reading about all the adventures! Keep the posts coming. Love & Miss you.

    Like

  2. Matthew says:

    Looks like fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

