Three(ish) Months and Counting!

I didn’t go into much detail about this in my previous post, but after I was notified that I was a shortlist applicant, I had to submit even more documents to the JET office in Anchorage. The amount of paperwork I’ve done for this job is astounding to say in the least. With the three 20-page copy packets for the initial application in November and then the paperwork for the interview and now this…WOW.

Seriously though, why is waiting for the days to tick by so hard? When I have nothing to look forward to, they zip by without a care. Now that I have something, it’s taking FOREVER. WHY. My birthday is next week (how did that sneak up on me?) and the only thing I’d like for my birthday is my placement; fat chance, but it will be such a relief once I know! I’ve lived in Nagoya City/Atsuta and Gifu City/Mizuho City in the past and as much as I would love to be in a place I’m familiar with, I’d also love to experience a new area! I’m kinda leaning more towards the inaka (countryside) because I haven’t lived there before. Both places I lived in before were suburban areas, though Mizuho was for sure less suburban than Nagoya City/Atsuta.

I hope there’s an information session soon; my coordinator said that there’s a few Alaskan JETs in SE, so instead of having us go all the way to Anchorage for the various sessions, he was looking into having a JET Alum do one for us in Juneau instead. I hope so! It would save me SO much money. Even though Anchorage isn’t too far away, it’s expensive!

I also started sprucing up on my Japanese recently, even bought a new set of books to move up to Advanced Level and…Holy. Crap. How did I get a degree in this language? I can barely manage to utter a simple sentence without getting all tongue tied. For reals…I have a degree in this? Seems I just have to buckle down and review all my old books before I can move onto the books I ordered for myself to move into Advanced Japanese.

Fingers crossed the rest of April passes quickly and May too!IMG_0859

About mandipanda13

I love Visual Kei and almost everything about Japan! If you're wondering what the small percentage of dislike is consisted of I'll sum it up in a few short words: COCKROACHES AND HUMIDITY. Alaska has neither of them; hence, no likey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three(ish) Months and Counting!

  1. libraryguy says:

    I hope you get placed somewhere that you would like to be…but wherever you end up, it’ll be an adventure! I’m writing a blog about my JET experiences, check it out if you have time..

    https://pastdepartures.wordpress.com/2015/04/11/jet-1-2/

    Like

    • mandipanda13 says:

      Thank you! I have been placed but per my coordinator I can’t write a post about it until tonight. I will have another post up soon about it! Thank you for reading! Yours looks interesting too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

